Logassa Sutra

This verses of this sūtra (सूत्र which means thread or string implying a string of words that forms aphorisms) have a deep meaning eulogising the 24 Tirthankaras with embedded mantras. To imbibe the essence of this profound prayer, one has to comprehend the qualities of the Tirthankaras whilst reciting their names. Some of the unique attributes of the Tirthankaras implied by the words in Logassa are as follows:

  • Totally eradicated Mohaniya Karma implied by the word Jine
  • Attained omniscience implied by the word Kevali
  • Their speech understood by people and animals in their own languages implied by the word Dhamma-tithayare
  • Preaching from Samavasaran implied by the word Logassa Ujjoagare

Gautumswami asked Lord Mahaveer what is the benefit of reciting the Logassa Sutra, and he replied that those who recite Logassa Sutra strengthen their right faith or perception (samyak darsana1).

There are 6 Avashyakas (essential duties) prescribed and Logassa is one of them. It is recited during Dev Vandana, Kayostsarga, Samayika, Pausadh (way to experience the life of a Jain Sadhu / Sadhvi), etc. It is also referred to as chauvisat-thaya, chauvisat-thava, chauvisait-thaya, chaturvimshati-stava. Within the Āgam classifications, there are four Mool Sutras out of which one of them is the Āvayashyak Sutra. Logassa Sutra is in the second chapter of this scripture.

It is called Logassa Sutra because the entire prayer begins with the word Logassa and it is part of the Āvayshaka Sutra. It is composed in Prakrit which has 6 forms and experts believe it has more semblence of Maharashtri, Shauraseni and Ardhamagdhi which is also considered to be a derivative of Prakrit:

The prayer gives obeisance to the Tirthankaras of the past, present and future either in this world or other worlds within the Jain Universe. There are mantras embedded within this prayer and it is beneficial to all to recite it with concentration and positive feelings.

It comprises 256 letters. A general benchmark is to take 25 breaths to recite upto Chandesu Nimmalyara.

Logassa Sutra recited by Pujya Sadhvi Sanghmitraji

Logassa Ujjoagare, dhamma tittha-yare jiṇe
Arihante kittaissa, chauveesa pi kevali

“I eulogise the 24 Kevalis (Tirthankaras), those who enlighten the Universe, establish the four-fold religious order (comprising Sādhu, Sādhvi, Shrāvak and Shrāvikas), the conquerors (those who have conquered their attachment, aversion, karmas) and worthy of worship in the three worlds (heavenly region, middle world and hellish regions).

Usabha majia ca vaṇde
Sabhava mabhinadana ca Sumai ca
Pauma-ppaha supāsa
Jina ca canda-ppaham vande

I am giving my obeisance to Ŕsabhdeva Bhagwān, Ajitnāth Bhagwān, Sambhavnāth Bhagwān, Abhinandan Swāmi and Sumatināth Bhagwān. I am also giving my obeisance to Padmaprabha Bhagwān, Supārśvanāth Bhagwān and Chandraprabha Jineśwar Bhagwān.

Suvihi ca puppha-danta
Siala-sijjansa vāsu-pujja ca

Vimal maanta ca jia
Dhamma santi ca vandāmi

I am giving my obeisance to Suvidhinath Bhagwān or Pushpadaṇt Bhagwān, Śitalnath Bhagwān, Śreyansnath Bhagwān, Vāsupujya Swāmi, Vimalnāth Bhagwān, Anantnāth Bhagwān, Dharmanāth Bhagwān and Śantināth Bhagwān.

Kunthu araṃ ca malliṃ
Vande munisuvvayaṃ nami jinaṃ ca
Vandāmi riṭṭha-nemiṃ
Pāssaṃ taha vaddhamānaṃ ca

I am giving my obeisance to Kunthunāth Bhagwān, Aranāth Bhagwān, Mallināth Bhagwān, Munisuvrata Swāmi and Namināth Jineśwar Bhagwān. I am giving obeisance to Ariṣṭanemi (or Nemināth Bhagwān), Pārśvanāth Bhagwān and Vardhamāna Swāmi (Māhāveer Swāmi).

Evaṁ mae abhithuā
Vihuya raya malā pahina jara maranā
Cau-visaṁ pi jinavarā

Tittha-yarā me pasiyantu

In this way, I am praising / eulogising the 24 Tirthankaras who are free from particles of dust (karmas) and filth (karmas bound in the past), free from old age and death. May they be pleased with me.

Kittiya vandiya mahiyā
Je e logassa uttamā siddhā
Ārugga bohi lābhaṃ

Samāhi vara muttamaṃ dintu

I have praised (speech), revered (body) and worshipped (mentally) those who are greatest in the universe and liberated. May they bestow upon me bodhi lābh (right faith) for my spiritual progress and highest state of contemplation.

Candesu nimmala-yarā
Āiccesu ahiyam payāsa-yarā
Sāgara vara gambhirā
Siddhā siddhim mama disantu

Siddha Bhagwants are purer than the moon, more luminous than the suns, more serene and deeper (profound) than the superior oceans. May they bestow upon me the abode of liberation.

1. Pratikramana Sutra by Nirvāna Sāgara
2. Prabodh Tika Part 1 by Jain Sahitya Vikas Mandal
3. Internet
4. Detailed explanation of Logassa Sutra by Prof. Samani Kusum Pragyaji & Samani Unnata Pragyaji
5. Logassa Sutra Mahima by Pujya Jinchandra Maharaj

I apologise and seek pardon for any unintentional errors in translation of the verses.